Create custom categories

(Costa Giannakopoulos) #1

Hi whilst I think the existing list of categories of spending is ok I do think some of them are not accurate enough for what I need.

It would be really good if each user had the option to customise their own categories.

I play 5 a side 3 times a week which costs me money and have a monthly gym membership. I’d like to create a fitness category. Not everyone would need this category which is why making some of them customisable would be great and each user would have specific categories that are meaningful to them.

What you think?

(Michael) #2

I don’t mean to shoot down your idea (I would also like them), but unfortunately custom categories has already been discussed and for now we have to make do with #tags on transactions.

Edit: I’ve been budgeting for around 3 years now and have actually found less categories improves budgeting.
More categories tends to mean you justify costs to yourself, sometimes with silly categories like Coffee or Netflix. It’s easy to see that you spend less than £20 a month on either of those, but bundle them in to Entertainment and Eating Out and it soon all adds up.

(Toby Toller) #3

Entertainment

Personal Care

Also this:

(Bradley) #4

Coffee?

And before you tell me it’s “eating out”… I don’t eat my coffee :wink:

(Toby Toller) #5

Personal care then :joy:

(Michael) #6

My son likes eating instant coffee (he’s only 2). We try not to let him but he can get it by himself :frowning:

Cool. I tried weaning my kids on Marmite and curry, I should try coffee as well :wink:

(Mark Dunne) #8

Custom categories would be great! The personal care category is good but it would be better if you could have a drop down assign things like dental, prescriptions, hair cuts etc

(Change Works) #9

Yep. Me too.

(Tom Halloran) #10