Found Cards and Protocol

I was wondering about something from that happened to me the other day. I work in retail concierge and had a customers wallet handed into our lost property, I called the number for lost/found cards (it was one of the big 5 banks, we get a lot of lost cards and we rarely have the time to call the bank.) the lady who answered was most unhelpful. She blocked the card and despite saying I was from the shopping centre itself and offering a item log number she wouldn’t pass a message on the the owner to say we had his wallet.

I was wondering what Monzo would do in the same circumstances? I assume there must be a straightforward reason to have been bluntly refused to pass a message onto the owner, but who knows?

Overall I’m curious into what Monzo/banks can and can’t do in such a situation?

4 Likes

In the above situation the card would most likely be frozen by the account holder anyway. I would guess they would possibly do exactly the same thing as the above bank.

Yeah, I was mostly on about getting the rest of the wallet back; I know cards can be easily frozen.

I called my own current bank, Metro Bank (I was bored at work, it’s a slow day. :stuck_out_tongue: ) who said that they’d happily add that someone/a store/shopping centre had found my wallet in my notes file and inform me of the details if I called in saying my card was stolen/lost or I froze my card in app. Any contact details the company or person left me would be passed to me if the finder gave them with permission to do so, so I could get my wallet back. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Wow that’s great. That could be a unique way of dealing with things. Let’s see what someone from Monzo has to say.

1 Like