Uber Taking Money Twice?

I’m new to uber hence the question…

Had an uber on Saturday for about £20 and it came out instantly of my barclays acct.

Today ( the following Tuesday ) they have taken another £20 which is showing as a pending transaction, any idea why this is ?

I’m going to contact barclays in the mean time. But has this happened to anyone else ?

It happened to me with my Monzo account. One of them will probably disappear in a month or so.

You could try getting Barclays to remove it, but Monzo wouldn’t budge when I asked for a reversal.

2 Likes

Ok dude thanks. Sounds like the old " Authorisation Hold " which happened with my Sky before.

3 Likes

It sounds like it, but I thought as soon as the transaction went through, the authorisation was supposed to disappear. Otherwise, what would happen if you had a large transaction but didn’t have the money to reserve the same amount again?

1 Like

Same here got two Uber transactions. First one is the auth hold currently pending to fall off. Second one has cleared. It looks like it only happens when the actual amount is more than the auth hold

Yep thats the concering thing. Because technically they seem to take the money twice, and then eventually " Reverse " one of them

When this happened with Sky, monzo swiftly reversed it instantly.

In no rush but just a bit of a pain really.

Has the money for the second transaction been reserved from you account so you can’t spend it?

The money from Saturday cleared yesterday ( £20 ). Then again today they have taken another £20 and it says pending.

I’m waiting on a response from barclays

They said…

sounds like they may have had some issues taking your payment or they’ve moved an extra payment into “Pending” as some kind of deposit. Not to worry the payment should drop onto your balance after up to 10 days but if it does leave your account and show on you’re actual transactions then we can look to dispute it for you

1 Like