Retailer took card after pin locked

Anyone aware of any UK Law regarding banks requesting retailers to keep cards when the pin is locked in store?

So been away in Europe, come back to the UK and I go to buy something in the airport. Had a complete mind blank and forgot my pin and got it wrong three times. Informed by the retailer that the till has told them that they have to keep my card, cut it up and send it to the bank.

I’m too tired to argue too hard about it, speak to the manager and he says it’s against the law for him to let me take the card. In hindsight I should have asked which law.

Anyway, card frozen via the app and requested a new one. Informed Monzo via the app but they haven’t heard of such a thing before.

It’s been about 20years since I worked in retail so may have changed but I’m sure at the request of the card issuer shops etc can retain the card when asked and if safe to do so. The card belongs to the issuer afaik not the end user.

1 Like

They’re probably hoping to get a bonus from their processor for capturing a card. Locking the offline PIN, however, does not do this from my understanding. I think the reward only applies if the authorisation message that comes back is actually ‘capture card’. What shop did this happen at? Can Monzo comment on if they gave that response? I doubt it.

Just to pre-empt speculation, this is absolutely not something we ask retailers to do and will be their own policy (or that of their card acquirer’s). :disappointed:

We have a similar problem with a very small number of ATMs abroad capturing cards for simple declines, even when we haven’t asked them do.

6 Likes

Hey, my speculation was literally ‘I doubt it.’ :slight_smile: Can you confirm that my understanding is correct that they don’t get a reward unless the authorisation message asked them to capture the card? I mean, if they got it for any card, nothing would stop a rogue retailer from just grabbing random cards to get some extra cash.