'Printed from the internet' proof of address not accepted

Hello,

I needed a proof of address for quite a large company. Send them a :monzo: bank statement and it got rejected. I received a letter demanding that the document provided is not printed from the internet.

Sure the list of documents that I could, in theory, use is quite long but… I’m a student so no Council Tax statement, all bills are online, the tenancy document is older than the required 3 months, I don’t have a UK driving licence; you get the idea. :pensive:

I wrote to :monzo: and they kindly told me they can send me a paper bank statement. Thank you :+1: If not :monzo: willingness to send me a paper statement I could have been in trouble. However, I kept my Barclay’s acct (mostly on 0) exactly for that kind reasons (and for the free overdraft :grimacing:) so went to the branch to get a statement.

Did anyone had such demands made previously? I just find it absurd… what do you think? Is this even legal? :thinking:

Best, :slight_smile:

1 Like

Some places are just :man_facepalming:t3: That’s all I’m saying. How can they even tell as I’m sure the Monzo statement looks the same either way haha.

8 Likes

I used to get it quite often but in last 5 or so years I don’t think I’ve encountered any business which doesn’t accept digital copies as proofs.

With regards to your council tax it’s generally a really good one to have I’m surprised you don’t even have a £0 bill. Might be one to confirm with your council. Although even now my council tax bill is always paperless!

2 Likes

I wanted to be on the CT to always have an easy proof of address. But no, only the person I’m living with is on the CT. I am sure it is correct - at the beginning, both of us were on it. When I called the council to tell them about me being a student they removed my name.

3 Likes

That’s bizarre, since I’m not sure how they can tell the difference anyway.