Not eligible for Joint account - Monzo investor, premium payer and early adopter

Hi all,

I’ve been using Monzo (Mondo) since March 2016. I’m a Plus user and Business plus user. I’m user number #5658 and an investor.

Which makes me shocked that for some reason I’m not eligible for a joint account. I’ve gone through support and for the first time was disappointed with the response that “They cannot tell me why I’m not eligible”

Does anyone have any ideas as to why this may be? I’m getting married this year and a joint account is a big requirement for a bank account.

I wouldn’t want to move to another bank, but it may have to happen

Tim

2 Likes

Search is your friend, for one of many other posts about this

Not sure why this has been flagged, as there’s nothing wrong with the post

4 Likes

There are lots of reports on here about this. The short answer to your question is that nobody knows.

BTW being an early adopter, Plus/Premium customer etc doesn’t entitle you to any special treatment.

15 Likes

Lots of threads about the same thing if you have a search.

None of the things in the title make any difference either

5 Likes

If you aren’t eligible then you won’t be allowed to open a joint account regardless of who you are or ask at Monzo.

Unfortunately your only option is to move on, many suggest Starling, many of us here use them for joint accounts.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick replies everyone. I thought this would be the case.

One thought I had was that early adopters may not have been migrated to joint accounts, which is why I thought it’d be useful.

4 Likes

I don’t think that Support, or Monzo generally, are doing themselves any favours here