Non-UK Resident (Outside UK) / Questions

Heya guys, I’m a newbie here. :grinning:

Well, first of all, I want to congratulate to all staffs of Monzo of having a bank status! I hope you guys will be different than the rest of the traditional banks I encountered. I hope you guys will shake things up in the near future! Since part of its foundation was crowdfunded, I wish I could’ve have known sooner so that I can contribute a little. But mehh…

I was round around the internet to look for prepaid cards that can be useful in my travels, until I stumbled upon this. My main intent of opening one was to have flexibility since I travel frequently. With interest in mind of signing up, I was bummed that it is only open to UK residents at this stage (I am from the Philippines, currently residing in Malaysia, soon might be residing in Maldives)

Four questions :smile:

1. Is it possible for a Non-UK resident to open a Monzo current/debit account (or planning to?)

(please say yes or maybe or planning to?)

Since Monzo is a registered bank in the UK, instinctively one might ought to have a UK address/identification/paperwork to open one - like most of the traditional banks I have encountered in a foreign country.

Well, I do not live in the UK and I do not have a fixed address since I live on rent most of the time wherever I go, And it will likely to continue to do so, since I’ll be mobile most of the time.

Having an ‘‘digital account / bank’’ like this will be great, since it will give me flexibility along the way.

1. Are you guys planning to open a EURO/USD Account (or with any other major currencies)

Or having a current account that enables you to switch currencies wherever you go, in your phone? Like those nifty features in Monzo app.

Because of Brexit? Again, flexibility? :neutral_face:

1. Assuming that my smartphone and card are stolen simultaneously,