My Day, Today, At Monzo

My Day At Monzo

I thought I’d share my day, today, at Monzo, and give you an idea what a semi-typical day at Monzo looks like, at least for me.

I’m a distributed Cop which means that my day is a little different to somebody who works from the office. :house_with_garden:

I’m on 0600-1500 all week this week. I wake up about 0530, make myself a coffee on my new Nespresso :coffee: machine, feed the cats and jump in the shower. I normally chuck my Monzo hoodie on when I’m on an early, because it helps me feel comfy and warm. It also helps me feel like I’m part of the team. Something which is really important when you’re working from home.

0600-0700 - Chat :speech_balloon:

The first hour of my day is on chat. I log on about 0555 and pop up in our Squad’s slack channel to say hello. I’m part of a squad called Coptarts, we’re all remote and all fairly new to the company so it’s a lovely supportive environment.

I’m not alone this morning, one of my colleagues is also on a 6-3 so we’ve got each other for company at this early hour. We bounce a few ideas off each other as the hour progresses and she gives me some great advice on an issue I haven’t come across before.

At this time in the morning it’s mostly picking up non-urgent chats from overnight, and dealing with urgent chats as they come in.

These tend to involve customers who’ve woken up to payments they don’t recognise and so I block and replace a few cards, as well as refunding customers who’ve had money taken fraudulently. It still amazes me how quickly we can get this sorted. Often within a few minutes of a customer getting in touch.

Chat is a bit strange at this time of day, you often don’t get a reply from a non-urgent chat because the customer is fast asleep in bed. Somebody else will follow these up later on because I’m moving onto other non-chat COp tasks.

0700 - 1000 - Merchant Review Feedback