Monzo Magic hackathon: 3 days, 120 ideas, 333 Monzonauts

Hey everyone :wave:
I’m Bianca, I work as an Engineering Manager here at Monzo. We’ve taken some time to write a blog post about Monzo Magic hackathon.

This blog is about the hackathon we ran internally this summer, where we got to build things for customers, while collaborating and learning from people across the business. You can read more about why we did it, how we structured it and a few examples of the outcomes.

Would love to hear your thoughts, and let me know if you have any questions :pray:

16 Likes

The easy turn-on biometrics is a great add!

Haven’t seen it a little while but there’s been a bug for a while which would turn them off every now and then, so have felt the pain of a surprise pin-request and then having to go through settings to turn biometrics back on many a time!

And sounds incredible that US joint accounts have come out of this!

Feel like tackling iOS/android parity should be a core app thing… but would be lovely for someone else to do so in the meantime next time you do one of these… Android-iOS Parity Wiki

2 Likes

Thanks for the feedback! The team has continued to iterate and improve the Biometrics flow, but if you still come across issues, please raise them with us so we can investigate :pray:

Another example project that has started during the hackathon, and teams picked it up to continue the work is Seeing your mortgages in Monzo. So lots of exciting things!

And thanks a lot for sharing the Wiki on platform parity, I’ll forward to the team!

6 Likes

Thanks @bianca! Others have definitely said it but the community engagement (and pace of updates) recently has been incredible and is definitely appreciated :blush:

3 Likes

This is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

I have a few thoughts / questions:

1. I’m sure the Monzo team is brimming with ideas, but if you let the community know before the next one, I’m sure we’ll have lots of suggestions to stimulate thought!