Monzo could pioneer implant chips for payment

I’ve been using contactless only (no cash whatsoever) for 7 years and mostly phone payments for past 3 years, since TFL implemented card payments for the travel gates.

I’ve been looking for a chip implant solution that allows to clone a bank card but there aren’t any banks currently making an effort to make this happen, even though the technology is already there (like bioteq.co.uk).

I’d love if Monzo would be the first (again) to make this happen.

So insert a chip somewhere in your body? :flushed:

Sometimes ideas of a sci-fi nature should be just that - sci-fi. :smirk:

7 Likes

Not for me just yet - you can get contactless jewlery atm

1 Like

I wonder why banks aren’t keen on allowing people to clone cards? :thinking:

5 Likes

Excuse me whilst I hop on the nope train to nopesville.

16 Likes

I would be up for this. Monzo sign me up.

In theory, you can extract the contactless part of an Oyster Card out of it’s plasticy encasing - and can transfer the RFID (or NFC?) coil to other things.

There’s a few tutorials on it - I imagine it works similarly for card contactless too!

1 Like

If I’m not mistaken. TFL won’t allow payments like that (bio-chips) as they need the card in hand for random checks. Pretty sure someone tried to take them to court about it because they got fined for not being able to show a valid debit/credit or Oyster card, but they lost the case.

If anyone does fancy extracting an oyster card or so, you can use nail varnish remover to do it

This was from a press statement
“By defacing Oyster cards and then travelling with them people would be risking a penalty fare as passengers need to produce a valid, intact ticket when requested. Plus they would not be able to hand back only part of a card and be reimbursed the deposit or any value that remains the card.”