I need to unlock card at ATM but I’m in NZ

When my new card was sent I wasn’t notified of having a new PIN number along with it, so I entered my old PIN x3 and locked my card. I did PIN recovery and learned my new PIN but can’t use card until I’ve unlocked my card at an ATM. Struggling to find ATMs in New Zealand that allow me to do this though! Thus is my third year living here and I’m having to transfer balance to my kiwi account as Monzo is I useable :frowning: any pointers on where to unlock ATM? Thanks!

You could try contacting Monzo support in app, but the likelihood is that they will close your account as you are no longer a UK resident and as such are in breach of Monzo’s terms and conditions…

Thanks for replying. I am still a UK resident, I don’t have residency in NZ, just on a temporary work visa. I have tried the support pages in the app and not been able to find the correct query (the app used to have something more like a live chat feature in the help section which I can’t find now, hence bringing up my dilemma here). I guess I’ll try more ATMs for now.

You can contact Monzo by following the guide in my bio. :+1:

1 Like

You can open a Monzo account even if you’re not a UK tax resident. All you need is to live in the UK and have a UK address.

If I had not lived in the UK for three years, I would be very cautious about this. It is quite clearly stated you should live in the UK. It is one of those terms which is left deliberately ambiguous. Being a UK resident is not equal to living in the UK.

3 Likes

If you’re on a temporary work visa, you are very likely a resident of New Zealand and not the UK (unless its for less than 6 months). People often confuse the immigration and tax definition (banks usually use the tax definition).

If you’ve lived in NZ for 3 years, you are not a UK resident.