Can I transfer money from Chinese visa debit card to my monzo card in the UK

Hi, everyone!

I am an international student studying in the UK, and I only have a Monzo bank account here as my local bank account. I want to top up some money on my card, but the cash limitation is 1000 pounds. So I want to transfer some money from my visa debit account create in China to my current Monzo account, but I am not sure whether it will be successful. Could you kindly tell me if it works? Also, could you kindly tell me if there are some more ways to top up some more money to my account please?

Thank you so much!

I believe you will need to use Transferwise to do this.

1 Like

From a Chinese bank you don’t want to use TransferWise.

You’d be better off opening an account with a larger bank as Monzo doesn’t work very well with international transfers currently (HSBC, Barclays etc.)

Thank you!

HSBC is particularly easy as they don’t charge anything for global transfers if you also hold an account in China but you’d have to wait until next time you’re back unless you have one already. Alipay international transfer works okay too but not with Monzo.

After it’s in the UK you can instantly transfer money to your Monzo account for more convenient spending.

Is there a reason you say this? Does TransferWise not support sending from Chinese bank accounts? Seems it would be a lot easier if it works.

I was going to ask the same. Isn’t it what Monzo recommend too?

It’s simply not supported to send any currency from China via TransferWise as they don’t comply with local regulations.

Options are to use a large bank with global presence (notably HSBC as it’s fee-free), Alipay etc. but all of these would require an account with a more established (in this context) bank and not the likes of Monzo, Starling, N26 etc.

One other option OP has is to use PayPal China to send money to a UK PayPal account. It’s very simple to do but you’ll be charged quite a lot for the convenience.

1 Like