Why Starling Business was a big disappointment

I have been a client of Starling since 2017. I had a personal account and a Business account.
The business account was for my consulting business as I am a DevSecOps contractor.

Not too long ago I opened my second business in order to invest the profits of my consulting business. This was heavily based on Foxy Monkey’s post on how to invest your company’s profits. Full article here: https://www.foxymonkey.com/how-to-invest-your-company-profits/

But Starling refused to provide me with a bank account, even though it didn’t infringe any of their Terms and Conditions (which is not long and I read all).

I also tried to open a beta business account with @Monzo for this business, but they told me that this is not the company they want to trial the business account at the moment. Which I understand given the fact that it’s still in beta and they’re seeking specific types of companies for the moment. Hopefully once they release it to the public, Monzo will take my business in because it is as good as any other.

But it was very frustrating to have Starling deny my account application. Don’t take me wrong, I am 100% in favour of private business choosing their clients and who they want to work with. But the same way that Starling doesn’t want one of my business, they’re not getting any of them. Which led me to close all my accounts with them this week.

Currently my 2 business have accounts with Tide, Coconut and Revolut. Why not? No problem whatsoever setting it up with them. Don’t really understand why Starling made such a big fuss out of it.

If you want to know more about the business, I summed it here:

In short, profits from my consulting business were accumulating and not providing any interest. In fact, they were devaluating due to inflation. My £10,000 will be worth £7,500 in 10 years’ time. So, doing nothing was really not an option! Similarly, £100,000 will be worth £75,000. A £25,000 loss!