Which bank accepts statement from Monzo?

Hi, I am an international student and have been struggling to open a bank account with traditional banks.

I recently opened a bank account with Monzo out of emergency. I love it and I’m intending to keep it, but I’d like to open a bank account with one of those traditional banks to get tuition fees from my parents. Has anyone used statements provided by Monzo to open a bank account before?

Why do you need them?

I don’t see why a bank statement would assist in opening a high street bank account.

As a proof of address?

Because my current landlord/renting agency and university have gone paperless. They only send e-documents. The only “original copy” of the document I can get is a bank statement from Monzo.

2 Likes

Providing proof of address can be a challenge for new international students: no driving licence and no bills. They often rely on university-issued letters, which local bank branches are usually happy to accept. This is apparently not an option for OP. Many universities have gone online with no counter services during lockdown.

2 Likes

Ask your University what banks they partner with.

You go to the branch and there will be a procedure to follow. They don’t make it difficult for international students.

2 Likes

Can’t your parents send the money to Monzo?

Thanks! I tried Barclay last year but wasn’t able to book an appointment. It got canceled due to lockdown when I finally booked one. The university replied today saying that Lloyds or HSBC will accept their letter. I will give it a try and find out what are the other banks they partner with

1 Like

Heard from other people that monzo don’t support international payment?? ((is it true?

Depends where you’re sending it from. Not officially supported.