What is the law on changing terms and conditions of credit cards

How much notice needs to be given and how? I’d prefer citations of legal instruments.

It will be in the terms and conditions to which you originally agreed. Read those.

3 Likes

Usually 30 days, or two months, but it’s whatever was in the terms when you took out the card. If it’s to your advantage then they may make the change immediately. Either post, email, online, app and that could be one could be all, but again this will be hidden in the terms.

Got a citation for there being no legal minimum?

I’d imagine it will be defined by YOUR Credit Card provider, no? What did the Terms & Conditions say?

seems there might be no minimum notice period , its purely at the gift of the provider , presumably if they change the terms and conditions the consumer has the right to withdraw from the contract if its detrimental to the consumer ( and pay back the outstanding balance ??? ) but Im no expert :slight_smile:

12.9 Regulation 2 of the Consumer Credit (Notice of Variation of Agreements) Regulations 1977, SI 1977/328 (the Variation Regulations) has been amended to provide that there is no longer a requirement to give at least seven days’ notice before a variation to a regulated agreement has effect28. The requirement is now that notice must be given before the variation takes effect. In the case of changes which are to the borrower’s disadvantage, notification should be made in sufficient time to enable the borrower to be aware of the variation and to act upon it if they wish.

page 56 …havent read through it all so take it with a pinch of salt

the un amended regulations gave 7 days minimum notice - can’t be bothered looking for the amended regulations :slight_smile:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/1977/328/regulation/2/made

1 Like

I’m not asking about terms. I’m asking about the legally mandated requirements.

Thanks for being the only person to answer the question.