We’re testing energy switching

One of the ideas we’re exploring is energy switching. Here’s an update from product manager Benji on our latest test.

5 Likes

For this feature to work for me, it needs to have the ability to put in usage details and tariff details. The Octopus quote suggested I could save half of what I’m paying with Bulb, but when I calculated the cost based on my last monthly bill it was actually more expensive.

19 Likes

This is the feedback I gave them when I was surveyed after switching to Octopus though Monzo.

3 Likes

Thanks for your feedback! I am an engineer working on energy switching. We’re planning to add that ability soon :blush:

12 Likes

Please can you show unit prices and standing charges in pence - all energy suppliers show these prices in pence and showing them in whole £ to 2 decimal places is incorrect and makes life harder if you’re trying to compare your current tariff ‘vs’ the new tariff.

+1 on being able to enter usage in kWh.

It’s sad that the Onedox integration didn’t go ahead (they’ve since partnered with Starling) - given that Onedox scrape usage information from bills it would potentially mean it could be auto-populated for Onedox users. Maybe you could leverage the Onedox API for this in future?

It’s been a week or more since I switched so I can’t remember off the top of my head exactly what the screens were like but it might be good for transparency if you make it clear how much Monzo makes from each switch.

5 Likes

I will look at this in May /June when my present contract expires. althougn it would be my preference ,cost matters, and it needs to be competitive with comparison sites for me to switch through Monzo.

I think for me to use this, I’d like there to be more than one energy supplier to compare rather than just Octopus.

7 Likes

I want to be able to just send Monzo a PDF copy of my latest bill and then they come back with a deal.