Saving advice for students?

Hey y’all - I’m an international student who’s been in London for about 3 months now, and I’m still stumped by the fact that my monthly spending can fluctuate quite substantially, and I’m worried that I may be spending over my means on some days - which also means I’m not saving up much, if anything.

Just curious - does anyone out there have any tips on budgeting/saving, especially if you’ve been on a student budget before? I’ve decided to give Plum a go to see where it gets me, but I’m still on the lookout for general tips!

I’ll give a few based on food as thats where I made a big change and seen some nice savings

• Plan out my meals for the week before going on my weekly supermarket shop, this doesnt mean you cant eat out just plan it in advance and stick to your plan :slight_smile: that way no money is wasted on unneccessary food.

• Also if you make food in bulk this also saves money, what i would do is make a larger portion of pasta and then use leftovers for my lunch the next day, this can also be done with meals and then freeze them to use at a later date

2 Likes

Let me share some of my experience:

• Make all money in the same account, so you can easily track your budgets
  • Put the money in the saving pot which takes one day to take out, waiting is quite important, it will help you cool down the mind
  • Round out transitions, keep the small amount in a pot, so you can spent them for drink or others
  • Use cash is a good way too.
1 Like

I think my one tip would be to watch the little spends. Can you make your own lunch instead of buying it?
At my uni sandwiches were about £3 * 5 = £15
But you could buy Ham+bread+salad for the week for £3 in total usually
so that is £12 a week saved (potentially £624 a year)

Same goes for things like coffee and drunk food.

I am not saying not to get them occasionally but to treat them as a treat rather than the norm

3 Likes