PSA / question - Portuguese Exchequer is asking for my Monzo account's IBAN / SWIFT

Hi everyone,

First post here.

This is as much as a PSA as it is a question.

I moved to the UK in early September 2018, opened a Monzo account right away. I only informed the Portuguese authorities that I was a UK resident in late September 2018.

Lo and behold, the Portuguese Exchequer has warned that all “digital bank accounts” held outside Portugal have to be reported in the 2018 income statement form. This only applies to banks with a full banking licence (e.g. Monzo and N26, but not Revolut). Because I was only, oficially, a UK resident in late September, this means that, for tax purposes, I opened my Monzo account while I still was a Portuguese tax resident.

This is no biggie - I just need to enter the IBAN, i.e. let them know I have this account.

The problem is that I can’t find Monzo’s IBAN anywhere: I understand Monzo doesn’t receive transfers from abroad, but it’s gotta have an IBAN. Monzo’s in-app chat tells me “Monzo does not use IBAN” - this can’t be right and I asked for an escalation.

Do you know if the information on Transferwise’s website correct?

If so, I can probably that sample to get my IBAN.

Thanks everyone

Your probably better opening a bank that has international banking and an IBAN and properly supports it.

I don’t think this is relevant. If I’ve understood @dave-bowman properly, he just has to enter his bank account details on a Portugese government form, rather than transfer any money. The problem is that they want it as an IBAN, not a sort code / account number.

I know this might be difficult in the face of bureaucracy, but @dave-bowman, would you be able to contact the Portuguese authorities to let them know you need to provide the information in a different form?

2 Likes

Hi Peter,

That’s exactly what’s going on. They just want me to enter the IBAN/BIC of my Monzo account, for “anti tax evading purposes”.