New Current Account Customer - Full Switch?

Hi!

I’m brand new to Monzo, albiet i’ve been following for a long time.

I would like to get rid of my main bank (Halifax) and move fully to Monzo. Recently Halifax turned off the text alerts, which was the only useful thing the account did which has made me look elseware.

2 things that are making me a bit nervous about switching fully.

1. The lack of a Current Account Switch Guarantee which the main banks offer & for me has been really useful in doing a major switch over.

2. What impact moving to a new(ish) bank would have when re-mortgaging next December (2018).

Regarding point 1, I could have lived with that if the Overdraft facility was live and allowed some buffer which would mean maybe 1 month of work to keep an eye on both old and new accounts, but after that, it’ll settle down. But with no guaranteed date with that, I was wondering how others have made the move?

1 Like

If it helps I moved slowly making sure that DDs were working correctly a few at a time before finally moving my salary over. Been working just fine for the last 3 months :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I had the same fears, but just ended up moving all my direct debits (in time for January - ouch) and salary to follow. I’m going to jump in, but keep my existing legacy bank account around for a while in case I need a fall back!

3 Likes

Hi! Hopefully moving to Monzo will help you with remortgaging, as the app can breakdown spending into categories, generating more useful data than traditional bank statements.
Bank statements are on the roadmap too :slight_smile:
I switched the direct debits manually - I have 5 and it was just a few phone calls to change the details with each company.