Monzo, I really need your help!

Hi Guys,

I know this is a huge ask and very unlikely to get any success however I’ve got somewhat of a nightmare situation presented to me today.

Im a small business owner and HSBC have today closed my Business bank account without any prior communication with myself. Upon ringing HSBC to find out why some payments have bounced and direct debits failed, they told me that I needed to “confirm my details with them” and because I’d not done that, the account has been closed. This account had been open for 10+ years and in daily use as my main business bank account, yet that made no difference. They’ve not rang me, text or sent 1 email about this, of which HSBC confirmed on the phone, but couldn’t understand why.

On that phone call, HSBC said that it wasn’t right and it shouldn’t have happened, especially at this time of year, however once an account is in closure there’s nothing they can do about it, and I would need to apply for another business bank account that can take “several weeks” to open.

I know Monzo are looking into offering a business account, if there’s a closed beta (heck even an Alpha is fine) that I could be apart of then I’d really appreciate it, the only functionality I’d need is the ability to pay 1 cheque in, setup direct debits and be able to do a bank transfer, I’m already part of the beta testing of the Monzo app and fully understand all the limitations and issues that arise.

Thank you in advance for anything you can do.

cc @tom @simonb @HughWells

2 Likes

What an utter crap situation. Proving what useless customer service retail banks are.

I’m sure the tagged people can press some buttons :crossed_fingers: :crossed_fingers: :crossed_fingers:

@jrdn is the product manager for it apparently for business banking at monzo

4 Likes

I don’t think they’ve even got that far

Try Starling

8 Likes

Tough situation to be in!