Monzo Desktop App - WIP

Hey folks,

Unrelated to a previous idea posted on here, I’ve been wanted a “bigger” way to manage my Monzo account.

I was thinking of just creating a tablet app, but I’ve been wanted to experiment with some native macOS building and thus I am here wanting to share a work in progress look at my currently untitled macOS app for Monzo!

(It’s worth saying that I don’t particularly think a native desktop app is the right way to do this sort of banking, and a more feature-full web experience would be better. But I’m treating this as an experiment and personal challenge as I’ve never done macOS before!)

Link to screenshots (WIP): https://drive.google.com/open?id=1SGT1KPPQ6kzxtxd_UvunOux8Yq675IMk

Transactions%20-%20No%20Selection

Definitely got a lot of ideas written down, including a bunch of functionality and improvements that one day I hope are in the official apps!

Sharing on the forum because UI/UX really isn’t my good point and so wanted to get opinions, criticisms and ideas from the community! (It is worth saying the transaction view itself is quite a while from completion, and needs a bit of a redesign)

I’ll be updating the collection of images above as I make further progress, and hope to send a link to testers in the (hopefully) not so distant future.

Thanks in advance!

(also sorry if this is posted in the wrong section, happy to move!)

54 Likes

Amazing work :heart_eyes:

Might need some more emojis though :yum:

4 Likes

Thank You! :heart:

Definitely needs more emoji, I agree! Already got plans to include emoji in the transaction view in the same way you do via notifications.

Also got a bunch of work to do with help and information messages throughout the app - so I’ll be sure to include the odd :poop: emoji! :wink:

Looks really good! Only thing I didn’t see is if there would be a way to see your DD’s through the app?

1 Like

Thanks Chris! :heart: