How's our way with words?

Hello! I’m Harry and I’m a writer at Monzo :wave:

We’ve been thinking about our way with words recently. What do you think of it?

Could you do us a favour?

Sum up what you think Monzo’s tone of voice is in three words. (That’s three separate words please, not a three-word phrase like ‘really really great’ or ‘load of rubbish’.)

And then three words for what the tone of voice should be, too — if you think it should be different.

Any other comments are obvs much appreciated as well.

We’ll be using this to help sharpen our writing style, and we’ll report back soon :+1:

7 Likes

simple friendly technical

I think that’s right, your tone is friendly & simple, but very technical when needed. Announcements etc have the technical information in there, everything is friendly.

Personally, I think the tone of voice you have is perfect for what I see Monzo as from 18 months ago to now.

8 Likes

Relaxed. Friendly. Informal.

I think there is no need to change as you seem to have judged it right.

Only observation is about emojis. One emoji may mean different things to different people so they should be used sparingly, where their message is clear, and never assume the other person will always know what you mean by them.

6 Likes

I’ll follow up on emoji use. Please don’t substitute entire words for emojis; screenreaders for the visually impaired deal with emojis in a variety of ways, and by leaving out words you may be making things difficult or impossible to understand.

This is especially true for emojis such as “soon” (displayed as the emoji :soon:) where a screenreader may not necessarily read out the word as intended, despite an image of the word being present. Your users who can see the image will be able to understand. Your users relying on a screenreader may not.

In short, please use emojis to enhance your text, not replace it.

As for your original question: Passionate, modern, clear. And you don’t need to change.

25 Likes