Donations For Monzo

It could be an idea to be able to donate sums of money to monzo for great service etc :slight_smile:

1 Like

No

But i’ll give them some supportive emojis

:heart_eyes::kissing_heart::star_struck::+1::clap:

10 Likes

Tipping members of staff could be cool. Given Monzo is worth around £2 billion I think they’re probably okay.

3 Likes

If you really have spare money, may I ever so kindly suggest (in no particular order) Shelter, cancer research UK, Muslimaid, ChristianAid, the Red Cross, or dozens of other charities?

12 Likes

I get the sentiment, but I’d be much happier if staff were paid well, than if a way was found for customers to tip them. Just my opinion, though.

4 Likes

Sometimes it is illegal to tip employees of a company under the one of the laws regarding bribry. As a teacher, my contract states I must declare any gifts above ÂŁ5 in value. Catering is one thing, paid employees providing financial services - a bank - is another.

2 Likes

I do volunteer work for a charity at the moment :grin:

3 Likes

Sadly even if they accepted tips from us, the staff member would likely only get a lower percentage as it would have be put through on their payslip and have deductions for income Tax and NI

Like, when your in a bar and the terminal asks you if you want to add a tip.

Although saying that, everyone should and always declares their cash tips, don’t they :wink:

I used to work in a bar when I was younger and a few times drunk people put their pin is as a tip and not realised ha ha

Any chance I get I always give thank you messages and nice feedback as that can still often give a smile to the staff knowing they are appreciated :slight_smile:

In case people didn’t know, Monzo is a Living Wage Employer

I’m against tipping/donations here, it’s not appropriate. Would you tip the bank clerk in the high street? Or donate to Microsoft?

If you like Monzo, stick with them and use what they offer (if it works for you). That should be enough.