Difficulties paying TFL with Monzo (and other cards) with Apple Pay on Apple Watch

(Justin) #1

Hi

I’ve been using Apple Pay on my Apple Watch since the start of 2018 to tap into Transport for London. It worked fine and reliably on my original Apple Watch.

However, since upgrading to a Series 4, tapping in fails around 70% of the time, and I have to try again (often with impatient queues behind me). The watch actually shows that it was successful in initiating the process, but the TFL terminal beeps in error, and the only way forward is to double-click the button on the watch to initiate a new payment.

I finally called Apple support yesterday, and their initial theory is that this relates to Monzo rather than the Apple Watch or the terminal. When I tried to tap in this morning with Apple Pay using my Amex card instead, it went through without any issues.

Has anyone else come across this issue? I’d love to hear from other Apple Watch series 4 users paying via Apple Pay with their Monzo card.

1 Like
(Sarcasm is the finest form of wit.) #2

Had zero issues. I Monzo on Apple Pay on my Series 4 watch flawlessly for the last two months (as long as I’ve had a Monzo account). Used it in all kinds of stores. Never for TFL.

Not sure that helps.

2 Likes

If the AMEX card works without issue, it suggests that the NFC chip for Pay is working correctly.

That said, it’s unlikely to be Monzo themselves that are causing the friction between your watch and the reader. All the NFC chip does is read data from the reader and replies by returning the information from the card.

More likely to be the angle that you’re catching the reader with.

I would recommend removing, and re-adding the Monzo card as a starting point. If that doesn’t solve the issue, restore the Watch.

1 Like
(Justin) #4

Thank you, both. That’s helpful. I think the more feedback we can get, the easier it’ll be to identify the root cause.