Cheque Book

Hi all,

I’m new to Monzo and I was wondering if this bank offer cheque books.

I know cheque books are few and far between now, but I have had to use cheques a few times this year and I can’t find anywhere about cheques with Monzo

Nope and pretty much never will

3 Likes

They don’t , and won’t. Most High Street banks offer cheque books, I don’t think that any new app only banks do.

3 Likes

Virgin Money do, but they also have a web portal so maybe that doesn’t count.

I’d call Virgin Money a high street bank. Cause it is Virgin Money Stores, Clydesdale Bank, and Yorkshire Bank branches. With the latter two being more like legacy banks rather than neobanks.

5 Likes

Most don’t issue them by default any longer for new accounts, you have to specifically request one.

2 Likes

Monzo have publicly said in the past that they don’t intend to issue chequebooks as they consider cheques obsolete, or at least on the way to obsolescence.

This is why they also haven’t joined the cheque imaging clearing scheme (ICS) to process cheque deposits - they get cheques processed on their behalf by a third party, to avoid the need for being a member.

Starling, as a member of the scheme, process their own cheques but still don’t issue a chequebook.

As others have said, no neobank currently offers a cheque book at all. The “closest” are the challenger banks, which would perhaps include Virgin Money and Metro, but they are more similar to traditional high street banks than they are to neobanks like Monzo.

2 Likes

I understand people receiving the odd cheque from large corporations whos systems and processes are really complex and therefore expensive to update.

However in what situations would Joe bloggs need to write a cheque in this day and age?

1 Like

Those situations where people aren’t confident online, or who aren’t online? Old people, like my parents.

Edit: Actually, some people my age.

1 Like