Barclays rejecting direct debit from new Monzo sort code

Hi,

I am new to Monzo so have a 04-00-03 sort code. I am trying to switch my Barclays mortage direct debit to come from my Monzo account but Barclays told me they only accept 04-00-04 sort codes from Monzo and there is nothing they can do about it. I have lodged a complaint with Barclays in the hopes they will update their system.

Has anyone else encountered the same issue?

Nearly a year old!

3 Likes

Yep I saw similar articles online and mentioned that in my complaint to Barclays. The article doesnā€™t say how it was resolved so hoping someone can share some more details. Itā€™s strange they havenā€™t seemed to address the issue in all this time.

1 Like

Interestingly, Barclaycard do accept 04-00-03 so it must be dependent on which area of the business you are paying.

1 Like

A painful and incredibly manual solution would be to open an account elsewhere, set up the DD and then CASS to Monzo.

2 Likes

Try calling. If itā€™s simply a form error rejecting it as a valid sort code, customer support agents are almost always able to override it and update it for you.

Had this problem with Chaseā€™s sort code too, and thatā€™s how I got it sorted.

1 Like

I did call them originally and the agent told me my best bet was to lodge a complaint because there was nothing heā€™s able to do until the relevant team resolved the underlying issue

The Barclays website allowed me to switch and I received confirmation. But a month later and the direct debit was never set up

2 Likes

Barclays enjoyed a, in my opinion surprising, decent reputation for technology on this forum a few years back, but my personal experiences have been that anything shiny is the very thinnest veneer over ancient systems that barely cope. I cannot even update my statement preferences as it wonā€™t accept the existing email address I have on file even though that is read only during the process

3 Likes