App has stolen Monzo's logo?

Has this app stolen Monzo’s logo?

2 Likes

They’re both Ms made with simple geometric shapes, but the shapes are different.

1 Like

Probably enough in that for trademark infringement.

Looks like Ilixia was using a different logo at some point:
94A7590C-BE58-4ECD-80C7-D3ADDDFDFE23

Definitely agree. I’m not lawyer but it looks like a grayscale Monzo logo to me…

4 Likes

Having been to a Trademark Tribunal at the Patent Office I found there is an issue that trademarks can be registered under different business categories or codes so two similar trademarks say both under Business Banking would not be allowed but if one was under Printing and Publishing and the other under Agricultural Farming that could be allowed (I made up categories for ilustration purposes as don’t have the list to hand)

2 Likes

17514867_300x30039

THEFT!!!

10 Likes

Trademarks are specific to the category one is trading under. I’m no lawyer, but I’m pretty sure a camera app and a banking app aren’t the same category.

As for copyright, I personally just don’t see it… Both are Ms built inside a square with geometric shapes, yes. But the shapes are substantially different as is the background.

5 Likes

My company was involved in a three year trademark dispute over a symbol. The symbols did not look alike, it was just the fact that they were of a similar type.

In my experience, if those two were trademarks registered in the same class, that would be enough.

1 Like

It does look like a blatant rip-off at first glance. But I can also see how it could be a coincidence.

Start with a square with an M in it. Another square, 45 degree swivel, chop off overhanging bits.

1 Like

‘Imitation is the best form of flattery’

but i think seeing that the two companies operate in such different fields, would be difficult to prove that MirrorLabs is taking away business from Monzo

3 Likes