Purchasing Property at UK with Monzo

Hi,

I am new to Monzo. I created the account for the purchase of a UK property. Feeling paranoid with the possibility of getting my account blocked by the bank because I will do a transfer of more than £500K
in 2-3 days.

Does anyone have experience with buying a property at Monzo ?

Thanks.

1 Like

Many people have purchased property with larger amounts of money using Monzo without issues.

However, as you have you only created the account to solely deposit a significant amount of money, you may want to contact Monzo to ensure that things go smoothly. It could easily be a trigger for a Know Your Customer/Anti Money Laundering check as you don’t use the account regularly and there is a sudden significant deposit into the account. This could happen at any UK bank nowadays.

Ensure that you have evidence of where your money comes from (statements from your current bank showing where the money originated e.g. previous house sales receipts, pay slips etc) as that will be the question they would ask, even if you contact them early. Also, all UK solicitors/lawyers (both your own and the sellers) will also ask you this during conveyancing (the legal aspect of house buying) anyway due to the UK’s money laundering regulations.

It is good to be prepared is all I will say.

8 Likes

What made you create an account with Monzo just to purchase a house?

Is there something that Monzo provides that your old bank doesn’t?

2 Likes

You’ll need to speak to Monzo anyway to get your limits increased as the maximum outbound bank transfer you can make is £10,000 per day.

There are lots of advantages to having a Monzo account, but if you’ve created your account solely to buy a property then I’d seriously reconsider your options. Monzo’s great, but there are banks out there that do what you need better.

2 Likes

Hi Ordog,

I come from overseas. It takes very long to make an HSBC UK account. So I use Monzo instead.

2 Likes

Hi RichardL,