More "Plain Anglo Saxon" info please!

I’m not so good at financial jargon. I’m also a Monzo newbie. My standard high street bank has always advised me to use my credit not debit card for online transactions. They said it makes fraud easier to deal with. I’ve always followed their advice. I’ve been lucky and never had to deal with any personal banking fraud to date so no experience. Once Monzo has its official banking status and a CA how secure will their debit cards be online? Would also love to keep the prepaid MasterCard please…

1 Like

Hi!

Take a look here for plenty of helpful guides:

Blimey lots of reading here :scream:. Do I get a degree at the end of it?! Ha ha ha :joy:

1 Like

I’ve been using both my prepaid and my current account cards to purchase from Amazon (Both UK & US) and iTunes with no problems. Any issues I had were quickly dealt with in app by the support staff.

What issues came up may I ask?

I didn’t know about the preauth charges from iTunes when I first started where they check you have an active card - support refunded them immediately and told me they would normally revert in about 7 days?

This isn’t so much a matter of cards being inherently differently secure. Rather, I think there are two main difference between debit and credit card when it comes to security. But these have nothing to do with banking status, or the actual card being used.

1) Section 75 vs chargeback in case of faulty goods, non-delivery of goods etc.

This chiefly concerns not receiving your goods or services, or goods or services being faulty. There is a nice comparison here:

But the very short and simplified version is this: