Monzonaut AMA - Dan - Security Operations Analyst 🔒💻

We’re back :tada:

First up in our 2022 AMA series we’ve got @dansec who is a Security Operations Analyst here at Monzo :lock:

I’ve asked Dan for a little bio so we can all get a better understanding on what that job entails and a bit of background on how he got to that position in Monzo

I’m Dan from the SecOps team (security operations). I’m a security operations centre (SOC) analyst and my main role is to detect and respond to security incidents as part of the cyber security incident response team (CSIRT). I work a little bit within the threat intelligence community.Before moving into this role, I worked as a financial crime investigator within our Fincrime team and before that I was a COp starting in November 2020!

I found myself moving towards my current role by getting stuck into an incident one day and helping out. Fast forward to January this year, I got offered a role as a SOC analyst and started officially on the 3rd of January.

Let’s welcome Dan to the Community and ask him some really interesting & weird questions. We’ll be keeping the Topic open until Friday this week :upside_down_face:

7 Likes

I’ll start things off :-

1. What has been the biggest challenge moving from being a COp to your current position?
  2. Would you rather have baguettes for legs or croissants for feet? :baguette_bread: :croissant:

:thinking:

5 Likes

Great questions!

1. I found it strange moving from an open availability onto a flexible working contract! When in COps I mostly worked 1pm - 10pm which was on a rota but now I pretty much decide between what hours I would like to work :slightly_smiling_face:

2. Baguettes for legs :leg:

3 Likes

what does a typical day look like 4 u

2 Likes

Do Monzo have a bug/security bounty program? :eyes:

1 Like

Hey Bee :wave:t2:

Great question :slightly_smiling_face: