✅ Linked account categorisation

Having upgraded to Monzo Plus to get linked accounts I have now linked my Amex (and soon to include Barclays) which is really great. It would be even better if I could use the same categories set up for my main Monzo accounts to tag the transactions in these linked accounts. And cherry on top would be to incorporate that spending by category in my monthly spend reports

its all very well wanting this utopia , but, dont get me wrong, I am no computer coder , programmer …wouldn’t that require the Amex transactions having the same “code” for want of a better word, that the Monzo app recognises to enable Monzo to recognise that you bought groceries, transport , etc etc …doesnt it need Amex to tag the purchase so the code is recognised by Monzo … and then Barclays to use the same code that amex uses and in synch with Monzos code …etc etc…be great if all banks used the same code wouldn’t it , Monzo should insist on it …for our budgets to work …or is it a simpler solution that I am missing … maybe the retailers should add a code to all their products that banks can recognise ,…
maybe they do … hmmmm

This is more or less the entire purpose of aggregators like Emma, Yolt, Money Dashboard.

The big question is whether Monzo is really up for the development effort to become a competitive aggregator - very little sign of that so fa

1 Like

so any bank , credit card supplier , could do this then, does amex categorise in their app your purchases into food , fuel, etc etc or just retailer ? do they have an app ? dunno

You don’t need your bank, credit card or other institution to do it at all.

Open banking APIs pass through the transaction data to the aggregator, which then does all the categorisation.

emma has an opening to become a bank then :slight_smile:

I can see a first class aggregator and bank combo bring unstoppable, but it hasn’t happened yet, not even close!

so no bank does this then ?

at present …

Let me know if you find one!