Learning to code

Hi all,

Anyone here trying to learn from scratch to code? Anyone have any advise or success stories?

I’ve started CS50 and I won’t lie am struggling massively through the problem sets. It can get very disheartening. My plan was to try get through CS50, then Python Automate the Boring Stuff followed by something like the Odin Project then who knows.

As someone with a Computer Science degree, I really wouldn’t bother with Computer Science as a mechanism for learning to code. There are much better resources out there online.

1 Like

I agree with @tommy5dollar. For context, I’m a Software Engineer that is entirely self taught: I have no formal education, and the same is true for many of my successful friends – although I also have very smart friends who have degrees in Computer Science and it has definitely provided benefits to their understanding of the field. That said, I don’t know anybody who started with Computer Science. Computer science is to programming what mechanics is to driving a race car.

Although the comparison between programming languages and human languages are few and far between, there is one key area in which they are almost identical: you need repeated exposure to a language to become fluent. This means that an hour spent on CS concepts is worth much less than an hour spent writing code.

Your biggest enemy when learning something new is becoming discouraged. Focusing on abstract concepts outside of a classroom is difficult for even the most academic of learners. There is certainly a lot of value in CS courses however they are, in my opinion, most valuable once you already have a solid understanding of what programming is and you’re already invested in it.