I want to get into a tech career - any advice?

I’m looking to retrain and get out of my current role (non-tech, but work daily with tech companies) and into a tech career (either development or cybersecurity), does any one know of any resources or courses etc that can help with this kind of thing? Anyone done anything similar?

Thanks
Sophie

Hey!

I moved from non-tech to Tech (I’m an Agile Product Manager now).

I’d say the first thing to do is define the direction you want to go in (you can always change it!), do you know any developers or people who do different roles? That’s what I did - from this I found that while I found development interesting, I much preferred to learn a little about it and focus on project management instead.

You talk about courses and resources, they are a great idea. There are loads of free videos on YouTube around IT, some good, some not so good. There’s also LinkedIn learning etc. I’d definitely recommend getting your head around Agile, Scrum/Sprint as that’ll definitely help even if you go down the development route.

Then, build contacts, network a little and keep an open mind as you start your journey. It definitely can be done, I went from a total non-tech background to 5 years now in IT Project Management & development.

Good Luck!

4 Likes

Don’t doubt you self. I moved from a very non-tech job to a developer by just applying

2 Likes

Consider Apprenticeships! I’m currently doing an IT Technician Apprenticeship with TfL to give myself qualifications to show I can do IT (pun intended xD). It may be a bit of a paycut for a while, but you do genuinely get amazing experience and real qualifications out of an Apprenticeship. :3

“Just do it” :smile: