Is Monzo for me?

Wasn’t really sure where to put this thread, however… I have a few questions.

1. Why is everyone so excited about Monzo?

2. What makes it different from your usual banks such as Lloyds or Barclays?

• Why should I be with Monzo rather then, your main stream banks?

• What makes these mainstream banks, so “corrupt”? (if that’s the word)

1. Is Monzo for someone who has a low credit score, like me? My debit card was stolen and the unknown person did some “fraud” on it (if that’s the word), which in affect got my account frozen and then closed.

Sorry if some of these questions are stupid, I’m new to this! XD

2 Likes

If you need a fully functional bank account, Monzo is not for you. Currently Monzo is just a prepaid card. The full bank account will launch later this year for everyone (currently in beta).
However, you could try Starling Bank for now. It is a mobile bank account with a debit card.

2 Likes

I’m excited because it’s different.
However, they truly seem like a bank with ethics and morals. They want everyone to get s bank account and they’re trying to be up front in what things may cost you.
Add on to that a cracking mobile app and you’ve got something which matches the times we’re living in.
They’re trying to push banking into the relevant century and they’re dragging the old banks with them whether they like it or know it.

2 Likes

I was pretty fortunate that i stumbled across Monzo completely on accident so i did a little research and what immediately drew me in was the instant balance update and categorization of all my spending. I’m almost positive i’m paying for a subscription that i don’t even know about.