Home improvements

Having become a homeowner in the past 12 months, and spending more time at home than usual, I’m beginning to think about home improvements (when it is safe to do so). Specifically, we’d like to do two things:

1. Knock through the wall between the living room and playroom and put in a large (more than double) doorway

2. Landscape the garden - extend the patio, build a slightly raised bark chipping play area, have someone professional put some input into the design to make most use of light/space/aesthetics.

I know we could save money by doing more if the latter ourselves but we are (relatively) time-poor and cash-rich and not at all handy!

With the wall, where do we start? Do we call a builder first, or a surveyor? I’ve never done anything like this before and feel very out of my depth. The most extensive dealings I’ve had with tradepeople (in a professional context) is calling a plumber to trace and fix a leaking toilet cistern. We live in the South East of England. How much should we save up before we start contacting people for quotes etc?

Those are the two things that we want doing to our house! Knock a wall down and landscape the garden.

We got a local builder to come round and assess the wall the other week while he was concreting a floor in another room. Thankfully ours are just plasterboard so can come down with no issues. I guess if he was unsure he would ask for a surveyor? :man_shrugging:

As for the garden. I was considering hiring someone on Fivver for like £20 to do a 3D render. There are even people on there that will do architectural drawings so you could pass them to a professional to get all the bits and do it all precisely as per the design.

My problem is that I don’t know if I trust Fivver. I hate that there are people on there that do “logo designs” and stuff but I guess it’s ok for a garden design to get a rough idea what you want and then buy the bits or hire someone to do it? :man_shrugging: