Buying First House Questions

Hi Guys,

Few questions about Buying your First House that I would really like to understand from a range of people. Please answer as many as you can but also if you do not want to answer certain ones then please skip over. Thank you so much in advance!

1. What was the cost of your first home?
  2. Was it a new build?
  3. What was your deposit?
  4. How long did it take you to save?
  5. What is your monthly mortgage rate?
  6. What was your salary at the time? (please don’t feel obliged to answer)

I have not really got many people to ask these questions so I thought I would come to the wonderful community at Monzo :slight_smile:

Much appreciated!

3 Likes

I can’t really answer all of your questions as we’ve only got as far as having our offer accepted on our first home – but I did want to say that I am absolutely losing my mind already.

2 Likes

£163k

I work in construction and would never buy new from the vast majority of housebuilders. So no, it was 100 years old.

Ten years

1.85% / 670 p/m

Wasn’t super great - Around 48k for both of us.

2 Likes

It gets so much better once all the crap is out of the way.

2 Likes

£115k
2. Was it a new build?
Yes
£8k + 20% on the government help to buy scheme
2 years
I can’t remember the rate but payment was ~£315 pm

£62500 in 2004

No

0% (in fact I took one of those 105% mortgages to cover all my costs)
Note: This was a really bad idea.

see above. no savings

When I bought the house: 5.6% variable
Now; 0.79% APR (tracks Bank of England Base Rate)
Current repayment ~£500/mo

So long ago I can’t recall but I think it around £17000/year.

Not sure any of my answers will help you, but the things I learnt from buying, re-mortgaging and owning a house.

1. Things take longer than you expect. Be patient
  2. Don’t miss deadlines. Put them in your calendars, diaries and make sure you do what you need to in good time.