Find out about overdrafts button

I don’t currently have an overdraft with Monzo, and clicking “find out about overdrafts” in the account tab tells me that Monzo can’t offer me an overdraft currently. My question - each time I click “find out about overdrafts” is some sort of soft credit check run? If not, is there any way to request Monzo credit check me again to see if I’m now eligible?

When I first checked to see if I could get an overdraft my Monzo address and credit record address didn’t match up as I was in the process of moving home - I suspect this may have led to me getting declined. If there’s no way to manually request a credit check from Monzo, is this something that is scheduled to happen at some point? I’ve had no issues getting an overdraft/credit from other financial institutions. I’ve been clicking “Tell me if this changes” for about 6 months now.

4 Likes

I don’t even get a “Tell me if this changes” button. I just get this:
IMG_FA5A25DFFC2C-1

Not sure what they mean by “near future”, but that’s been there since May.

2 Likes

Hmm… as of a few weeks ago, I was able to enter previous address details etc. in order to get a better match.

IMG_20181114_101523

I get this - so they know I exist, but I have had a monzo account for a year now, plenty of bills in my name (:expressionless:) and have been in the UK since birth.

I get (still) that they can’t find my credit record. Which isn’t exactly true because they are reporting to Noddle so they obviously can.

What they could say is “You do not have a good enough credit rating” or something to that extent. I’m not going to cry.

Saying they are hoping to fix it… they have been hoping to fix it since overdrafts were launched.

A forgotten part of Monzo. One that can actually make them money if they sorted.

3 Likes