All the reasons you should get Monzo as an international student

Here are all the reasons you should open a current account with Monzo, to start your student life in the UK:

3 Likes

But you can’t reliably receive funds from your home country into your Monzo account. :man_shrugging:

16 Likes

Yeah thats a real big omission that needs sorted before they market themselves at foreign international students in my eyes anyway

4 Likes

As an EU student I still need to transfer fee to my Starling account and then to my Monzo…

2 Likes

My partner is going to start her job in the UK next month. Even though she has opened her joint account and normal Monzo account due to her visiting me in the past years unfortunately she can’t transfer her money directly from Malaysia to her UK account since Monzo doesn’t support international-banking. She has transferred to my Natwest account and I have transferred to her Monzo account. It’s a bit of pain. This is where Starling shines because it supports international transfer although I am not a big fan of Starling. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

4 Likes

Monzo really shouldn’t be pushing this - you can’t reliably receive money from abroad unless you’re using a service such as TransferWise which the significant majority do not do.

The article is also very misleading - why would they need a bank account to be paid for a part-time job? The places most international students work pay in cash.

Edit: Monzo offers a really good product and service, but for international students Monzo is highly unsuitable.

7 Likes

Agree that the article is misleading, also:

You just need an address in the UK where we can send your debit card (like a friend’s house or your work).