What does Monzo offer that Revolut doesn't since they introduced the 3% Cash Withdrawals Fee?

Hello!

I’m new to Monzo, got my card the other week!

I have been using it in the UK and it is pretty cool with how it displays purchases etc on the app, haven’t had any problems with it so far but I’m just a newbie!

I actually had a Revolut card previous but upon finding out that Monzo didn’t charge anything for cash withdrawals I switched over… Only to find out that they are going to be charging 3% for anything over £200 in a single month.

• Monzo offer Mastercard rate

• Revolut offer Interbank FX Rate which is usually slightly better

• Monzo charge 3% for cash withdraws over £200

• Revolut charge 2% for cash withdraws over £200 but this can be upped to £400 with premium (i could use the free trial for my holiday after that I understand it is £6.99 but you get a lot of other benefits)

I do understand that paying by card doesn’t carry any charges for both, but have read that paying by card isn’t widely available for my primary reason of getting the card which is to visit Thailand and Cambodia.

• Monzo android app is lacking in comparison to iOS version or at least thats what I have read?
  • Revolut android app is the same as their iOS counterpart

What do Monzo actually offer over Revolut now?

along with the 2% charge for cash withdrawals don’t withdraw at weekends because there will be another 1.5% on top of that in Thai baht :slight_smile: + a 1.5% mark up on the exchange rate of the illiquid thai baht - or “just” a 1.5% mark up on POS terminals and within limits ATM withdrawals on the currency exchange rates - which by my math - worst case - could be about 5% fees on ATM withdrawals + the actual card cost of £5 to get the card :slight_smile:

if you don’t withdraw at weekends - you will still be paying 3.5% at ATMs after your initial allowance

and Normal POS transactions will incur the +1.5% for the “illiquid” exchange rates on baht ???