Should I move to Manchester from London?

I have been contemplating a move away from London for a few months. Never really tried too much because my heart will always be in London (probably) but kept my eyes and ears open for opportunities in other cities (in the UK and Europe).
The main reason for me moving away from London is to improve the quality of my life in general. I am well paid and have a comfortable life but for so many different reasons and personal factors in London, we as a family are struggling to find time together. I have a and half years old daughter who is our main focus and we want to make sure we can spend more time her and give her best start in Life. In London, we are spending a lot on renting, childcare and travel.

Last week I was offered two really good opportunities, in Brussels and my preferred one in Manchester. Both are same or better in terms of salary, benefits and career than my current job. Both want me to start early next year and are flexible to wait for me till March.

I know there are a lot of people here with all sort of experiences.

So I would like to find out if anyone has actually moved from London to Manchester? What are your thoughts on Manchester in general? Will it be really cheaper in terms of living and travelling? Can life be better in your opinion by moving to a smaller city with less traffic and a bit quieter life?

3 Likes

Hard question to answer. Itā€™s a different strokes for different folks kind of thing. Whatever floats your boat!