Plex users

(Caspar Aremi) #1

Are there any Plex users here? I’d love to see some shared libraries. At the moment I share mine with a whole bunch of friends, but none of them have anything to share back, so Im limited to watching only the stuff I already know about.

(Richard Bairwell) #2

I’m a Plex user on a Synology DS1815. I’m still building up my media library (still got over 5 shelves of DVDs to rip - and only 1 machine out of 4 with an optical drive: it’s something I’ve been working through for the last 3 years and now down to 5 shelves to do!) - just about touching 2,000 movies and just over 500 different TV shows.

(Danny) #3

I find Synology’s own Video Station better then Plex tbh

(Pete) #4

I find plex quite difficult to use, I used to love it but I just find it awkward now, I need to track down the version I was using. I have the majority of my DVDs ripped.

(Caspar Aremi) #5

I love it. I used to import all my videos into iTunes and sync from there to my devices, but Plex is just a dream.

I use Bytesized to host all my media online, after I realised I was taking up about 80% of my iMac drive. I didn’t want another machine on all the time in my flat, and don’t mind paying for all my media to be hosted in the cloud. It’s also got an incredibly fast connection so if I run a torrent through Deluge, it’s usually finished with a few seconds :speedboat:

(Adam) #6

Massive Plex user here :wave:
Have about 100 TV Shows and ~400 Films. All running on a QNAP TVS-671

(Beta User) #7

Can someone help with Plex.

If I have a TV show on my laptop (and its in the Plex Folder) does my laptop need to be open for me to watch that TV show on my Apple TV?

Thanks

(Caspar Aremi) #8

If the server is running on your laptop then yes it does.

You can get a dedicated bit of hardware to run Plex on, or a cloud hosted provider. It’s able to run on all sorts of hardware.

(Beta User) #9