Motivation tips?

I am a second year university student studying law. Since Christmas I have had no enthusiasm to do my TMA’s (essays) and have one due next week…

Does anyone have any tricks that they use to help out with hard times?

4 Likes

I spent a lot of time wondering this throughout study and subsequent 6 years in an industry I had zero passion for. My conclusion in late 2017 was that I was only going to focus on doing things I love. If you don’t have motivation to do what you’re doing - maybe it’s not right?

I appreciate that this isn’t directly what you wanted to hear. Maybe it could be as simple as rekindling your passion for the subject.

4 Likes

For things I’m not keen on doing I opt for a reward system. So in exchange for 30 mins of [thing I hate doing, usually housework] I get a break and 30 mins of [thing I enjoy but rarely do, like playing on the PS4], or [£xx towards thing I want but do not need], courtesy of a monzo pot.

The real issue, I find, is just getting started, after that it’s not as much of a chore as you’re already doing it by then.

Best of British, Rachel.

1 Like

Just essays I struggle at mostly. Love law in general.

Using the Pomodoro technique works for me for those hard to do tasks…

4 Likes

Whenever I had to write reports at uni, I would generally put on some music (through earphones to avoid distractions from house mates), and then write a sentence related to the topic.

It didn’t particularly matter if the sentence was technically correct in its entirety (that sentence would usually end up getting removed anyway), just had to be related to the topic. I generally found at that point that I would just keep typing and before I knew it the report was done :smiley:

It can sometimes also help to have some snacks and drinks next to you before you start ao that you don’t have to move away from the work when you get peckish or thirsty :stuck_out_tongue:

5 Likes