Monzo reportedly launching Buy Now Pay Later product

Monzo entering the BNPL space.
Are they too late or is this the move we were all waiting for?

Personally i how they avoid this. BNPL isnā€™t good for your credit score and companies that offer it have bad reputations.

Save up instead. It will take the same amount of months and you will enjoy what you bought more because of the work you put into it

4 Likes

Iā€™m not sure thatā€™s true. Xbox all access is financed under one of these, and it had zero impact on my credit score.

I paid it all off soon after though. Only purchased it that way, because it was a bit cheaper than buying the console and gamepass outright over the course of two years.

1 Like

BNPL has been around for ages. The only thing that has change is the consumer behavior.
Back when I was a student I bought my first laptop with BNPL from the bank because I couldnā€™t afford it to pay the lump sum immediately.
I get the fact that nowadays, youngsters are using for ASOS and others. But thatā€™s not a BNPL issue It is a consumer behavior and educational issue.

2 Likes

How do these things show on your credit file? Are they just like normal loan agreements, or can lenders see that itā€™s a BNPL three month thing?

And if someone uses it a lot, how easy is it to keep track of? Is there an app that lists all the agreements you have with Klarna, letā€™s say, or do you just have to keep track of each monthly repayment you have, which is a disaster waiting to happen

Why wait?

I understand if youā€™re paying 1473% interest but lots of them are interest free.

4 Likes

Iā€™m a big user of Klarna, find it easier to manage money using then, and there is a really simple dashboard within the app to see what your situation is at the time.

Sensible move from Monzo to go here

1 Like

Sadly, taking credit is generally good for your ā€˜credit scoreā€™.