Interest on pots doesn’t update to the new rates! Not fair!

Hi,

I think it’s a bit unfair to not automatically update the interest rate on savings pots to the better rates now available. Surely this would be an easy fix? Otherwise I’m always checking to see if I’m getting the best available rate in the app, and leads me to think you’re just hoping I don’t notice so you can keep me on the lower rate. It’s a bit annoying to have to close pots and reopen them all the time.

Thanks

Open a Chase account and move your savings there.

9 Likes

A way to check whether or not it is unfair would be to look back and see if interest rates on savings pots reduced automatically when interest rates were reducing.

3 Likes

Sounds sensible solution - until now and with small sums involved I have found it more convenient to not have multiple accounts but am now just annoyed at monzo failure to adjust rates up as well as down! Disappointing from them.

Hey :wave:

I’m a savings engineer here at Monzo, sadly we don’t control the specific savings product you are on the rates are defined by our partners and differ from the latest rates. This goes both ways during the pandemic older customers were getting better rates than new customers, now that we are trying to get back to the new normal rates are increasing and our partners are raising rates for both our latest products available for new customers and normally for older products too.

These might not happen at the same time but we are always talking with our partners to try and get the best deals we can for our customers.

I hope this helps explain why these rates differ to what is available from new customers straight away.

4 Likes

They did reduce automatically - pots opened before the pandemic were available for 1.15%, this was gradually reduced (on already opened pots) throughout the pandemic and has been stuck at 0.15% whilst new pots have become available with higher rates.

1 Like