Basically, I'm a student and I think I want a Credit card!

Hey guys,

This is my first time making a post so I’m quite new to this.

I’m basically planning to have a massive holiday once I have finished my final year of uni. I have saved quite a bit of money from it and I wanted to find a way to optimize my flying experience, which is where I been researching about credit cards that have reward schemes on flight and such. I have a part-time job which gives me enough left over to save/ to use for that month and a maintenance loan which I normally just save all of it. I know I’m going to make quite a lot on flights, accommodation and on the new Razer Blade laptop.

I just wanted to know if it would be ideal for me to get a credit card that this point when I don’t have a proper full-time job.

edit: The card I was mainly looking at is this, I want to know if anyone has this card and I want to know if it was useful to you.

The rewards ones tend to have quite high minimum income to be accepted

1 Like

Do you already have a credit card through a student account?

The requirements don’t really say anything about income.

nahh

Rarely do til you apply and then what each one classes as income varies

That would have been a “good” way to have built something of a credit record with a lower bar for entry as they already “knew” you

Might not be just income taken into account

2 Likes

@arsheman721 Try a credit card eligibility checker tool like the one at MSE credit club.

I don’t have any insight into Amex but suspect someone with no previous credit history is unlikely to have their application accepted.

4 Likes

tried to see my credit score on the link you gave me but didn’t work so I used clearscore.

They will ask about your annual income when applying for Amex. Well just try and see. There’s no harm

1 Like

Hey Ahmed, not an expert so going purely from personal experience of having travelled.