Automatic payments at fuel stations in France

Hi all. Newbie here. I do a lot of travelling in France and most fuel stations are self service. Yesterday I bought 35 euros of diesel, went out for lunch and then my card was declined because the garage had obviously “blocked” much more than that from my card. Highly embarrassing as I didn’t have enough cash and I’d never been to that restaurant before!
It turns out they “block” 120 euros every time and it can take 7 days for them to refund the difference. So I am now stuffed for money till the rest is put back on my card. I appreciate Monzo have no control over this, but surely there’s a way around it? It doesn’t happen obviously in UK petrol stations. :frowning:

It has started to happen in the UK. They should now be blocking £99-100 each time if they follow Visa and Mastercard rules, but many are slow in implementing them (they came out at the end of last year)

3 Likes

Contact Monzo rough in app chat. They may be able to reverse the block.

Thank you I already have. The petrol station actually took it twice (240 euros) but Monzo refunded one. I may have to wait for 7 working days (which in France is a long time!) for the rest of it to be refunded. I just wondered if anyone knew a workaround.

1 Like

Ask Monzo for one of their new Overdrafts :wink:

3 Likes

top up your card from your legacy account ? take out cash from an ATM for petrol , use your card for restaurants rather than petrol which will block 120 euro a fill up ?

I think there are only 3 solutions.

1. Contact Monzo every time.
  2. Add more funds to your account.
  3. Try to avoid self service stations.

Which isn’t particularly helpful, I know, but it’s the best I can think of.

1 Like

You can’t use cash only a card. Very few are manned with an actual cashier. What is a Legacy account anyway?

yep, that’s what I feared. I don’t have unlimited funds and most of the service stations in my area are unmanned. That’s France for you! :wink:

1 Like