Vanguard account fees

EDIT: I’m very new to investing and thought maybe somebody here would know about this stuff. If this isn’t the right place for this kind of question please let me know! :sweat_smile:

In this post over on Personal Finance Stack Exchange, the top answer states the following:

By contrast: open a Vanguard account: free. Transfer £50/mo. into eTrade account: free.

The information about fees on Vanguard’s website seems to suggest that opening an account actually costs 0.15% annually, not exactly free…

Am I missing something here? Also, what’s an eTrade account?

2 Likes

Yeah I looked at a lot of those and their fees are so hard to figure out. Some charge to open an account, custody fees and exit fees. It’s hard to compare them. So no, Vanguard aren’t free but there’s plenty a lot worse

Have you had a look at https://freetrade.io
Not long launched so you’ll have to go on a waiting list but I use them and their fees are clear (or non existent in most cases)

5 Likes

With vanguard is free to open an account, the 0.15% is the account managemant fee, which is 0.15% of the amount you have invested annually.

Then what ever fund you buy into will have its own fee (OCF) which is usually taken out of the fund itself buy selling down units that you own to cover the fee.

For example, I invest with vanguard and my fees are 0.15% for the account management + 0.24% for the index fund that I buy.

3 Likes

@jensbr One thing to consider from a purely fees perspective is whether it makes more sense for you to use a platform which charges a fixed fee or a percentage fee. This will depend on the size of your portfolio. Using Vanguard v Freetrade as an example:

Although Freetrade does not charge a fee for a non-ISA account, it will charge a fixed £3/month fee for holding an ISA account from April onwards. You would need to have over £24k invested for the account management fee of a Freetrade ISA to be cheaper than Vanguard’s 0.15% management fee.