Which provider to start an ISA?

I’d like to start investing some money into an ISA and would like to get some advice about which provider/app/bank to choose. I’m completely new to this so all advice is welcome. I’m looking to put away 500£/month more or less.

Thanks! :upside_down_face:

1 Like

Is there anything in particular you want to use the ISA for?

I’ve recently started a pot on Nutmeg since it was recommended to me by a few friends

Are you looking to go cash or shares? Remember you can only have one per tax year, so choose wisely. I have a share one with Interactive Investor (was TD Direct but got bought). Seems reasonable although they are introducing fees even when you don’t trade. Looking forward to seeing what Freetrade can do (maybe via Monzo!)

1 Like

@anon23935806 You should try chip. If you get invites you can get up to 5% interest.

You can save up to £600 a month I believe (manually)

https://getchip.uk

Let me know if you want a referral code. Not sure if we’re allowed to post them on the forum? :confused:

look at niche providers if you work/worked in certain industries, e.g. Police Mutual

You can have up to 4 ISAs each year (cash, equity, IFISA, LISA) as long as total doesn’t exceed £20k: https://www.gov.uk/individual-savings-accounts

1 Like

I wonder if there’s a :monzo: integration with Chip on the horizon?

2 Likes

Decide your timescale.

Less than 5 years, go with cash. More than 5 years, the stock market and bonds.

Fees fees fees. Fund performance inversely correlates with fees.