Theoretical Design Ideas for Master's Project

Hello everybody, my name is Connor and I am a student at the University of Westminster finishing up a Master’s in interactive Media. I just finished a big design project based around Monzo, because i’m a huge proponent of the company. For anybody who is interested, i’ve just published a Medium article showcasing my ideas, please feel free to have a look and comment and share and critique and tear to pieces. I would really appreciate the feedback and insight (no matter how positive or negative)

If anybody at Monzo would like to get in touch with me about my design ideas you can reach me at connorgettel@me.com

Here is a link to the medium Article:

Make sure you play the videos included! Lots of Flinto prototyping-goodness.

Thanks very much!

Connor Gettel

31 Likes

Just read the article and it looks amazing! Some of the details have been discussed on here at length but it’s nice seeing a visual representation of how it could be put into action.

I have no in-depth knowledge of design or fintech, but as an ordinary user, it looks sleek, visually appealing (love the animations too) and doesn’t detract from Monzo’s existing design.

My favourite bit is definitely the first point (more detailed visual analytics) and I hate pie charts but a bar chart would be helpful in letting me know at a glance what I’ve spent too much on etc. Things like custom categories, pots, and savings have already been addressed on here and I’m sure most people would be very happy to see them implemented!

The idea for dependents linked to a parent card is an interesting idea and definitely worth looking into since there are youths still dependent on their parents even past 18. My credit card is linked to my dad’s account-it’s not quite the same thing I guess but I think it could work!

2 Likes

Amazing piece of work, loving the ideas and design tweaks you’ve done as part of your piece :blush: