How does everyone manage their money?

(Jack) #1

I’ve been using YNAB for about nine months and I’ve found that I have so much more control of my money (which previously had a habit of disappearing on me!) I can’t imagine not having it now. Before that I used a Google Spreadsheet which I gradually ruined by adding in so many views and custom functions to the point it took ages to load or just timed out!

I’m curious as to how other people manage their day-to-day budgeting. Do others here use YNAB or spreadsheets? Monzo’s Summary? Just rely on memory?

Memory + Monzo mainly. I know how much I spend each month on DD/Bills and so minus that from my monthly salary. The rest of the money then gets split 50% savings 50% spending money. I often put more than that into savings but thats how my basic premise works.

I also then budget to make sure I never have less than a specific amount in my account. If I have a particularly heavy month then I also make sure to be extra frugal the next month by giving myself next to no spending money.

Seems to work well for me

Good old spreadsheet works for me!

Badly :grin:

A4 page with the dates scribbled down the side. Every month I say i’ll do a spread sheet and then don’t bother :sunglasses:

(Nick Taylor) #5

I’ve used apps (Microsoft Money, Jumsoft Money, Credit and Debit) to track all my past and expected transactions since I was a student, but since switching to Monzo I’ve found that a combination of the feed and summary has removed the need for any other tracking. I just keep a note somewhere of the few known expenses that aren’t covered by summary.